Inspiration! Go Over The Garden Edge!!!!

As you know, I have had a really difficult time with my gardens.  Some of my herbs and vegetables are slowly coming back from the damage due to bugs and critters, but sadly I have barely any delicious herbs to enjoy.

I really started bumming at the thought of no fresh herbs and having to wait for next year, that’s if they even survive! It has been such hard work!  I am definitely not planting anymore, as it has been so dry, difficult to keep up with all the watering. I know many gardeners are having a real hard time-saving their crops, which I find heart breaking.  Over half the country is in a severe drought and these extreme temps and dryness has yet been another difficulty for us garden lovers!

Well today I went to the nursery to pick up more bio-friendly insecticide, and I couldn’t help but notice that all plants and herbs were on sale.  Of course I just had to check it out and to my surprise they still had a decent selection of herbs available.  I started touching and smelling, delighted with the freshness of scent and texture.  “God, I wish my herbs were like this!” I must have lingered around the tables for at least 30 minutes! (people were looking at me strange…..”Herb Stalker”????)

Well, needless to say I could not leave without buying a nice selection.  I decided the only way I could enjoy fresh herbs now was to create a container garden on my back deck, protected from the critters and bugs!  Well from that thought I got really excited, why not bring the garden in for the winter and have lovely herbs to enjoy all year round!  I have a few sunny windows so why not?!

I was so excited and happy with this inspiration!   I don’t know why I did not consider this sooner!  I chose, Rosemary, chives, tarragon, marjoram, thyme, lemon balm, and mint to name a few….. Oh my!  My car smelled great the entire ride home!  I set up my little work area on the deck, containers and pots, soil, compost, fertilizer, boy did I have fun!

Creating my herb container garden

I played around before finalizing who would be planted with what, dug right in and within 20 minutes there it was!  What a wonderful feeling of satisfaction!

I am not so anxious for my herb garden, or any of my gardens anymore, they can take their sweet time to re-establish and if I am blessed with yummyness awesome, if not, that’s ok!   I know I have this little piece of heaven that will be coming inside, and it is a real nice comfort to have.  Maybe an indoor container garden with herbs can lift your spirits too!  Improvise if you have to!

Herb Garden in Containers 7-21-12

Of course my boyfriend and daughter think I’m a little nutty and that I have gone over the garden edge!  That’s ok with me, I guess I could be known for worse things!

Today was a such great day and I am so truly grateful for it.  I’m still fighting the good fight for all my gardens, but it feels great to have “a back up garden”, and especially, something positive to share with you all!

Keep smiling and noodling always!

Sheryl

Leave a Reply

